I won a weeks legal work experience! Thanks to ULS and StretLaw Ltd by @KurtGunby

I won, I won, I won! Did I mention I won?!!

ULS (via StretLaw Ltd) held an inter-university mooting competition earlier in the year, I had much on but decided to go for it anyway, nothing ventured and all that. I researched hard and it paid off; I won! You can read my short review of the first moot here.

The prize for winning that moot was a weeks legal work experience with Solicitors, Watkins and Gunn, organized by StretLaw Ltd.

My work experience began in April in the Cardiff office of Watkins and Gunn, and it was fantastic. Luckily for me they had a high profile criminal case running at the same time, so I got to witness excellent advocates in practice.

During my time I spent 3 days at the criminal trial, listening & observing to the solicitors, barristers & the Judge. This gave me a great insight into the daily routine of what it is like to operate as a lawyer in the real world – something textbooks just can’t convey.

I also spent a day in the conveyance department, where I helped to compile files & open cases, learning that the life of a solicitor can vary dramatically. One moment I was sorting the post; next I was assisting a paralegal that was reporting directly to the Managing Director! This helped me realize that maybe the job of a solicitor does not just involve a desk and a computer.

My last day was spent helping in the Newport office, where I helped in a social media meeting. The Managing Director was seeking a younger person’s view on how effective they are at using social media, where I was praised for my help and felt that I helped to further the company’s social media use.

Overall it was a great experience, which I would love to do again, by working in other departments to further my knowledge about law in practice.

I then went on to compete in the final moot, won that as well & received a mini-pupillage as a prize (yay!), courtesy of Civitas Law, again organized by StretLaw Ltd. More on that another time as first I have my exams to complete!

Come back soon for a review of my mini-pupillage…

© Kurt Gunby, 2013

Law Student: University of South Wales

Edited by Gary Lee Walters, Editor-in-Chief

2 thoughts on “I won a weeks legal work experience! Thanks to ULS and StretLaw Ltd by @KurtGunby

  1. Pingback: Summer Break: Career or Canaries? Choose both! | © UniLawStudents™ 2013, All Rights Reserved. Powered by StretLaw® Ltd www.StretLaw.com

  2. Pingback: Are the best lawyers non-law graduates? by @FayePhillips5 | © UniLawStudents™ 2013, All Rights Reserved. Powered by StretLaw® Ltd www.StretLaw.com

Have your say - no login required

